The Past 5 Months

Whew! In the past 5 months, I’ve worked on several projects, a couple of which were big, long-term deals. But I’ve completed them! You can see one project, a book I edited and formatted, here.

There are more projects in front of me, of course, but I love the feeling of completing something and moving on to a new venture. A couple of writing projects of my own need my attention, also.

But it hasn’t been all work and no play. Another LauraPalooza has come and gone. Here are some highlights.

Before the conference, the Barnes & Noble of Springfield MO hosted a multi-author signing event.

 

image9

Photo by Sandra Hume

 

There were many interesting presentations. One was a panel led by Bill Anderson of people who knew the Wilders, sharing memories.

 

PhotoJul

Photo by Lauri Goforth

 

In another, Laura Keyes demonstrated how many steps a woman had to go through to get dressed.

 

Photo2012%M

Photo by Lauri Goforth

 

My friend Marie and I shared a table at the author’s reception. There were quite a few new books relating to LIW released over the past year. The ones I got at the conference were Mary Ingalls: The College Years; Little: Novels; Nonfiction, Memoir, or Fiction? Dissecting the Works of Laura Ingalls Wilder; and a door-prize ARC of Caroline: Little House Revisited. (No review of that one yet, as it has to be published before reviews can be posted. I’m also working on reviews for other books I’ve read in the past year. If you want to make an author happy, review her/his books. I can’t tell you how much difference that makes. Like votes, every single one counts.)

One evening my tribe had a birthday dinner

 

083

Photo by our waiter, shared by Sheri Dieter

 

then got famous donuts for dessert.

 

PhotoJul1

Photo by Lauri Goforth

 

No one got a tattoo, but we had to check out the former bookstore that had hosted LIW.

 

20170713_204639

Photo by Laura Whitaker

 

The conference ended with a field trip to Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Farm

 

19642259_10214028857744279_2630186460106842220_n

Photo by Lauri Goforth

 

and LIW’s home in Mansfield.

 

20121804_o

Photo by a friendly fellow conference attendee, shared by Sherry Dieter

 

Julie got to play the organ, but no photos are allowed inside so we couldn’t preserve the moment, unfortunately. Other music was provided on Pa’s fiddle – yes, the very one.

 

IMG_0494

Photo by Lauri Goforth

 

The LIWH&M is trying to return Rocky Ridge to as close to the Wilder’s time as possible. They have apple trees and chickens, and brought in a couple of Morgan horses for the day.

 

IMG_0477

Photo by Sherry Dieter

 

As the perfect ending to a perfect day, Patty left flowers at Laura & Almanzo’s gravesite.

 

Ph2032M

Photo by Lauri Goforth

 

When I got home, a Frustrating Thing happened. I was transferring my photos from my phone to my computer, and something happened in the middle. It all of a sudden said “not responding” and erased all my photos. So all the pictures and the video on this page were generously shared by my friends. Thanks, y’all – you’re the best!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Teresa. Your old friend from Utah, now in Arizona. I’m the one who’s Father and family lived in DeSmet, and I had sent you some pictures of the Lodge in Keystone where a plaque with Carrie’s name was located. I was wondering where that donut shop you are standing by was located. My maiden name is “HURT”. When I saw the sign, it sent chills up my spine.

    Reply

    • Hi! Laurapalooza was in Springfield Missouri. A friend of mine who is going to college in Springfield tipped me off to the 24 hour donut shop.
      Teresa, great recap. The week was sooooo great.

      Reply

  2. Thanks for answering, Lauri. And glad your friend told you about the donut place, and you told us all. It was yummy. 🙂 And yes, a GREAT time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

