Flotsam and Jetsam

Flotsam and jetsam / Bobbing chaos in water / Life follows no plan

My first attempt at haiku. (The Japanese write it in one line, so I did, too.)  Okay, so I don’t write good poetry. The point is, life has not gone according to plan lately, and that’s hard for this control freak to deal with.

FJ

There is more research to do on the Little House project but I’m not able to take the trips required to do it right now, so it’s gotten temporarily shelved. My coauthor on the aquaculture book has the opposite problem: too many trips to work, so not much progress on that front. I’m still writing the novel, but I need more than one project to work on. I can work on any one thing only so long before my brain freezes, and the only way to thaw it is to bring something else to it.

So, I started a labor of love for the girls: a book of our family’s secret Thanksgiving recipes. It didn’t make sense to have only those, so I added recipes for all the dishes needed – and then some – for a big dinner. Then I decided to add our families’ traditions. But there were other things I’ve always wanted to do, but for one reason and another never did, and I included those, too, in case they ever wanted to start new traditions.

An ideal Thanksgiving would have activities throughout the day, and a good playlist going in the background. These are finding their way in as well, along with stories, songs, poems, and the real history of the holiday. It’s now a compendium on Thanksgiving, and I’ve decided to publish it. October 1 is the goal date.

The rest of life is rocking on. Spent yesterday with my girl, sewing. She has a few things she wants to make, so I gave her my machine (it’s as old as she is but a Singer – still works great) and we got her set up on a couple of things.

 

sew

My machine isn’t quite THIS old.

We’ve gotten record amounts of rain for August, and cooler temperatures (though still hot:  80s to 90s). I’ve been glad, because it’s easier to think about Thanksgiving in that kind of weather than it is on a sunny, triple-digit day.

 

“Wash on Monday,” Laura said, so I did. That and a few errands today, and more Thanksgiving. I won’t “iron on Tuesday” because I’m not an ironing kind of person. God bless whoever invented wrinkle-resistant fabric. That will leave more time for writing. And that’s always something to be thankful for.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Carol Bradshaw on August 23, 2016 at 5:32 am

    Enjoy all your hen scratches!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

